Events

The Pepper Party Picks the Perfect Pet + The Pepper Party Family Feud Face-Off

with local author Jay Cooper

Saturday, June 1 – 11 am

Meet the Peppers. Funny runs in the family. Picking the perfect pet for the Peppers is a lot harder than it seems in this hilarious family comedy for fans of The Simpsons and Family Guy. The fun continues in The Family Feud Face-Off when one of the Peppers decides to divorce her family.

Buy the Book!

Lake Success

An Evening with Author Gary Shteyngart

Saturday, June 8 — 7:30 pm

The bestselling author of Super Sad True Love Story returns with a piercing exploration of the 0.1 Percent. Deeply stressed by an SEC investigation and by his three-year-old son’s diagnosis of autism, Barry Cohen flees New York on a Greyhound bus in search of a simpler, more romantic life with his old college sweetheart. Meanwhile, his super-smart wife, Seema — a driven first-generation American who craved the picture-perfect life that comes with wealth — has her own demons to face.

Buy Tickets Now!

Dreyer’s English

with bestselling author Benjamin Dreyer

Monday, May 20 — 7:30 pm

As Random House’s copy chief, Dreyer has upheld the standards of the legendary publisher for more than two decades. He is beloved by authors and editors alike—not to mention his followers on social media—for deconstructing the English language with playful erudition. Now he distills everything he has learned from the myriad books he has copyedited and overseen into a useful guide not just for writers but for everyone who wants to put their best prose foot forward.

Buy the book!

Famous Father Girl

with author Jamie Bernstein

Wednesday, May 22 — 7:30 pm

The oldest daughter of revered composer and conductor Leonard Bernstein offers a rare look at her father on the centennial of his birth in a deeply intimate and broadly evocative memoir.
An intoxicating tale, Famous Father Girl is an intimate meditation on a complex and sometimes troubled man, the family he raised, and the music he composed that became the soundtrack to their entwined lives.

Buy the book!

Black is the Body

with author Emily Bernard

Thursday, May 23 — 7:30 pm

“I am black—and brown, too,” writes Emily Bernard. “Brown is the body I was born into. Black is the body of the stories I tell.”She writes in Black Is the Body how each of the essays goes beyond a narrative of black innocence and white guilt, how each is anchored in a mystery, and how each sets out to discover a new way of telling the truth as the author has lived it. “Blackness is an art, not a science. It is a paradox: intangible and visceral; a situation and a story.”

Buy the book!

Energy Healing

with author Kris Ferraro

Friday, May 31 — 7:30 pm

Living in a time of great uncertainty, it’s more important than ever to learn effective strategies for alleviating stress. Join International Energy Coach Kris Ferraro as she shares simple but powerful energy healing practices from her new book. Leave feeling lighter, more balanced, and peaceful. Q & A and book signing to follow.

Buy the book!